Dance Gavin Dance photographed by Chase Clymer

Dance Gavin Dance

Average Rating:

Hometown: Sacramento, CA (USA)


Dance Gavin Dance is a post-hardcore band formed in Sacramento, California in 2005. The band currently consists of vocalists Tilian Pearson and Jon Mess, guitarist Will Swan, bass guitarist Tim Feerick and drummer Matthew Mingus.

The band has released five studio albums and one EP thus far. Their upcoming sixth studio album, Instant Gratification is set to be released on April 14, 2015 through Rise Records.

Dance Gavin Dance's music has been described as a blend between post-hardcore, jazz fusion, progressive rock and screamo and critics have since the band's inception drawn comparisons to fellow post-hardcore peers The Fall of Troy, Alexisonfire and Circa Survive. Though the band's early releases would typically embrace elements from the emo genre, the band would eventually start to incorporate more experimental elements later on, starting with their album Happiness from 2009. Their 2011 release Downtown Battle Mountain II is said to feature “the same structuring as The Mars Volta album The Bedlam In Goliath in that it never let's up”.

The band has personally cited bands Glassjaw, Earth Wind & Fire, Deftones and Temptations as influences.

Former vocalists Jonny Craig and Kurt Travis currently sing in bands Slaves and A Lot Like Birds respectively, whereas guitarist Will Swan currently operates his own record label, Blue Swan Records, and also plays guitar in the supergroup Sianvar and Dance Gavin Dance side-project Secret Band (which also features Jon Mess and Matt Mingus). Departed member Josh Benton also works as a record producer and has produced a majority of the releases on Blue Swan Records.


Dance Gavin Dance Instant Gratification

Dance Gavin Dance

Instant Gratification (2015)

Rise Records

Dance Gavin Dance Acceptance Speech

Dance Gavin Dance

Acceptance Speech (2013)


Dance Gavin Dance Downtown Battle Mountain II

Dance Gavin Dance

Downtown Battle Mountain II (2011)

Rise Records

Dance Gavin Dance Dance Gavin Dance

Dance Gavin Dance

Dance Gavin Dance (2008)


Dance Gavin Dance Downtown Battle Mountain

Dance Gavin Dance

Downtown Battle Mountain (2007)


Related News

Media: Dance Gavin Dance: "Stroke God, Millionaire"
Dance Gavin Dance have released a new video. It's for the song “Stroke God, Millionaire.” The track is off Instant Gratification which is out tomorrow via Rise Records.…
April 13, 2015
Tours: Dance Gavin Dance / Polyphia / Hail The Sun / Stolas
Dance Gavin Dance will be headlining the upcoming Instant Gratification tour in support of their album of the same name, due out April 14, 2015. The run will feature support from Polyphia, Hail The…
March 03, 2015
Tours: Memphis May Fire / Crown The Empire / Dance Gavin Dance / Palisades
The lineup has been announced for the 2015 Subcity Records/Hopeless Records Take Action! Tour. This year, the bill will feature Memphis May Fire, Crown The Empire, Dance Gavin Dance and…
January 30, 2015
Tours: Punknews.org co-sponsoring South By So What
Punknews.org, along with the AbsolutePunk, Under the Gun Review, and Property of Zack will be one of the sponsors for this month's upcoming South By So What…
October 02, 2013
Tours: Finch / Dance Gavin Dance ("What It Is To Burn")
Finch has announced the final leg of their anniversary tour for 2002's What It Is To Burn. The run kicks off October 13th and tickets go on-sale on Friday. You can click Read More for the…
July 16, 2013
Tours: Dance Gavin Dance replaces Jonny Craig
Dance Gavin Dance have replaced their lead singer, Jonny Craig. The move comes after Craig was ousted from the All Star Tour the band is…
August 21, 2012
Tours: A Lot Like Birds join Equal Vision
Equal Vision Records has signed Sacramento, CA-based A Lot Like Birds. The band has been signed to Doghouse Records and released Conversation Piece last fall. The current lineup includes vocalist Kurt…
August 08, 2012
Tours: Jonny Craig of Dance Gavin Dance jailed
According to the booking report from Salono County, California's Sheriff's Office, Dance Gavin Dance frontman…
October 21, 2011
Tours: Warped Tour compilation for 2011 detailed
The 2011 Warped Tour compilation has been announced. Set for release on June 7, 2011, the album features music from Paramore, A Day To Remember, Set Your Goals, The Devil Wears Prada, Big D and the Kids Table,…
May 11, 2011
Tours: The Acacia Strain, Relient K, Peelander-Z added to Warped Tour 2011
Our third lineup announcement today comes from the venerable Warped Tour who, as with previous weeks, have confirmed another small batch of bands. The Acacia Strain, Relient K, Peelander-Z, Middle Class Rut,…
February 02, 2011

Exclusive Streams


Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go