Average Rating:

Hometown: Victoria, BC (Canada)


The band was formed in 1979 by brothers Rob Wright (bass guitar, vocals, and occasionally guitar) and John Wright (drums, keyboards and vocals). Their name derives from an anti–date rape slogan. For their first four years the duo's music would seem to be influenced as much by jazz and progressive rock as punk rock. The musical press described their earliest recordings as "Devo on a jazz trip, Mot√∂rhead after art school, or Wire on psychotic steroids." Nomeansno have been credited with being an influence on, and perhaps even the genesis of, math rock.

The brothers Wright began recording as a two–piece in their parents' basement in 1979. These recordings, heard on their first two self–released 7"s, consisted of full rock band arrangements and had a new wave, warped–pop sound, different from subsequent recordings. When, in the early 1980s, the duo began gigging simply with bass, drums and vocals, the present form of their distinct sound slowly took shape. The songs they played in this period are documented on the Mama LP (re–released in 2004 on their own Wrong Records).

In 1983, they added Andy Kerr (who played with John Wright in Infamous Scientists) on guitar and vocals. Kerr preferred pseudonymity and used such pseudonyms as "Buttercup" or "None–Of–Your–Fucking–Business". He brought a distinct hardcore punk edge to the group, and stayed until 1992. He is often erroneously credited for penning the lyrics of Nomeansno songs on which he sang, perhaps due to deliberately vague liner notes and frequent vocal moonlighting (Kerr sings lead or co–lead vocals on nearly half the songs on Wrong for example). Kerr's vocals were a necessity for a period of time in the 1980s when Rob Wright was recovering from nodules on his vocal cords. While Rob Wright is the band's lyricist and main songwriter, all members have contributed songs to Nomeansno records, and nearly all their material is credited to the entire band.

Wrong is widely considered the band's best and most representative record. ("The playing is incredibly skilled, with the Wright brothers effortlessly shifting tempos and time signatures and Kerr's razor sharp lyrics clicking right into place.")

After Kerr's departure, the Wright brothers recorded Why Do They Call Me Mr. Happy– as a duo. They subsequently recruited guitarist Tom Holliston from Showbusiness Giants and The Hanson Brothers, and have continued touring and releasing records, including Worldhood of the World (As Such), Dance of the Headless Bourgeoisie, One, and All Roads Lead to Ausfahrt, which was released on August 22, 2006. The album was released by AntAcidAudio in the United States and Southern Records in Europe.

The album One, released in 2000, featured "two stunning covers that only make sense coming from Nomeansno": a slow stoner rock–styled version of The Ramones' "Beat on the Brat", and rather authentic fifteen–minute version of Miles Davis' "Bitches Brew" (complete with electric piano and congas), featuring lyrics by Rob.

Nomeansno initially released records with seminal punk rock record label Alternative Tentacles. This relationship ended in 2002 and the band has since reissued old albums under their own Wrong Records imprint through Southern Records.

Related Bands

Hanson Brothers


Nomeansno All Roads Lead to Ausfahrt


All Roads Lead to Ausfahrt (2006)


Nomeansno/Hanson Brothers Would We Be...Live? DVD

Nomeansno/Hanson Brothers

Would We Be...Live? DVD (2004)


Related News

Full Fun Fun Fun Fest 2012 lineup revealed
While they've been slowly leaking lineup information over the past few months, today the Fun Fun Fun Fest 2012 organizers have confirmed the entire lineup for this November. Some notable performers include:…
July 12, 2012
Tours: Nomeansno (UK)
Pioneering (and seemingly immortal) Vancouver punks Nomeansno have announced a short run of three dates in the UK this October. The band last released All Roads Lead to Ausfahrt in 2006 via…
June 14, 2012
Tours: Nomeansno (Canada)
Victoria, BC's Nomeansno will be touring Canada for two weeks in October. Check out the dates…
September 28, 2011
Tours: NoMeansNo
Canada's Nomeansno have announced a fall tour set to kick off this month and include dates in the US and Canada. They last released All Roads Lead to Ausfahrt in 2006. You can click Read More for the…
September 03, 2010
Tours: Propagandhi make mixtape for the NME
Winnipeg's Propagandhi have compiled a 'mixtape' for the NME. The selections were chosen by each member of the band, and include the likes of Black Sabbath,…
December 03, 2009
Tours: NME reports on Brendan Kelly's favorite songs
Brendan Kelly of the The Lawrence Arms recently spoke to NME, listing "some songs [he's] super into." Among them are selections from Nomeansno, The Misfits, Britney Spears, Bad Religion, Lil Wayne, Cobra Skulls, The…
September 11, 2009
Tours: Duncan Redmonds of Snuff/Toy Dolls plans collaborations compilation
Duncan Redmonds of Snuff, Toy Dolls and Billy No Mates fame has announced his solo compilation, Bubble & Squeak. Due out February 17, 2009 on World Records, the album features collaborations with NOFX, Leatherface, Hi-Standard,…
January 14, 2009
Tours: D.O.A.‚??s 1995 Black Spot album re-released
Sudden Death Records has re–released D.O.A.'s 1995 full length The Black Spot. The 14 track CD has been out of print for a number of years. The band on the recording features Joe Shithead Keithley, Brian Wimpy Roy Goble and Ford Pier and John Wright of NoMeansNo. Wright stepped in for D.O.A. drummer Ken Jensen, who had tragically died in a house fire in January…
October 30, 2007
Tours: NoMeansNo touring in support of "All Roads Lead To Ausfahrt"
Victoria, BC's NoMeansNo is headed out on the road this fall in the U.S. and Canada in support of their new album All Roads Lead To Ausfahrt. Click below for the dates. A European tour is scheduled for November and December as well. All Roads Lead To Ausfahrt hits stores on August 22nd via AntAcidAudio (Greg of…
July 12, 2006

Exclusive Streams


Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go