The Jade Shader photographed by Adrienne Durfey

The Jade Shader

Hometown: Encinitas, CA (USA)


When you put ex–members of No Knife, Rocket from the Crypt, Boilermaker and Tanner (plus 2 touring members of Pinback) into a practice space together, you‚??re bound to end up with something highly unique, as the Jade Shader.Like the infamous Vancouver Island shipwreck from which the band takes it‚??s name, The Jade Shader is shrouded in the mystery of music stretching back across the ages. Birthed in 2003 when Chris Prescott (Guitar/Rhodes Piano/ Vocals) and Terrin Durfey (Bass/Vocals), both on hiatus from their most recent projects (No Knife and Boilermaker respectively), emerged from Prescott‚??s ‚??Belly of the Whale‚?Ě studios with promising demo work that was bound for a much larger audience. The band went through some initial line–up changes until they first took the San Diego stage assisted by the skillful Matt Lynott (Drums) and the multi–instrumentalist talents of Patricia Kavanaugh.

Drawing on the strength of their formidable past projects, The Jade Shader secured a record deal in Japan (Catune Records) before they even set foot on stage. Believe the hype. After talking with numerous domestic labels, the band finally settled on Seattle‚??s Sonic Boom. Those fans lucky enough to capture the Jade Shader live will experience the no–nonsense musicianship of seasoned artists who maintain high energy sets infused with a willingness to explore.

Related Bands

No Knife, Pinback, Rocket From The Crypt


The Jade Shader Curse of the Tuatara

The Jade Shader

Curse of the Tuatara (2005)

Sonic Boom

Related News

Related Stories

In Memoriam: Terrin Durfey (1974-2008)
Terrin Durfey of Boilermaker, The Jade Shader and Pinback has passed away after a long battle with cancer. Touch & Go made this statement: Sadly, Pinback member and friend to Touch and Go Terrin Durfey passed away early this morning. His recurring cancer returned just prior to the most recent Pinback tour and he was unable to perform with…
October 30, 2008

Exclusive Streams


Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go