Arctic Monkeys

Arctic Monkeys

Average Rating:

Hometown: Sheffield (UK)


Arctic Monkeys are an English four–piece indie rock/post–punk revival band originating from High Green, a suburb of Sheffield. Formed in 2002, the band currently consists of Alex Turner on lead vocals and guitar, Jamie Cook on guitar, Matt Helders on drums and backing vocals and Nick O'Malley on bass guitar, a position formerly held by Andy Nicholson.

Arctic Monkeys achieved chart success with their first two singles, "I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor" and "When the Sun Goes Down", reaching number one in the UK Singles Chart. Their debut album Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not became the fastest–selling debut album in British music history and received critical acclaim, winning the 2006 Mercury Prize. The band's second album, Favourite Worst Nightmare, is to be released on April 23, 2007, and will be preceded by the single "Brianstorm".

Arctic Monkeys are generally compared contemporary guitar bands such as The Libertines, The Futureheads and Franz Ferdinand.

Arctic Monkeys achieved their success through fan–made demo tapes and online file–sharing. They were heralded as one of the first acts to come to public attention via the internet, with commentators suggesting they represented the possibility of a sea change in the way in which new bands are promoted and marketed. The band eventually signed to independent record label Domino Records.


The Black Keys / Arctic Monkeys Live in St. Louis

The Black Keys / Arctic Monkeys

Live in St. Louis (2012)

live show

Related News

YouTube will block indie artists who don't join paid streaming service
Apparently unwilling to deal with artists like the Black Keys and labels like Prosthetic Records who withheld music from Spotify over…
June 17, 2014
Happy Record Store Day
It's Record Store Day so go support your local store and buy some music. Some band participating with special releases include: All Out War, Anberlin, Animal…
April 21, 2012
Metallica announce 'Orion Music and More' with Gaslight Anthem, F*cked Up, Hot Snakes, Liturgy
Metallica has unveiled their own festival, dubbed Orion Music and More, likely after the song of the same name on 1986's Master of Puppets. Metallica assembled the lineup for the festival, which will take place at Bader Field…
February 07, 2012
Lollapalooza 2011 lineup unveiled
Lollapalooza 2011 has been announced. Among the more than one hundred confirmed bands are The Cars, Foo Fighters,…
April 27, 2011
Tours: Arctic Monkeys
England's Arctic Monkeys have announced a European tour set to kick off in late January. The band will embark on the 26th with a show in Milan. You can click Read More for the…
December 08, 2009
Tours: Mariachi El Bronx, TV on the Radio, Dinosaur Jr., Frank Turner nominated for song of the year
The BBC has posted the list of nominees for it's 2009 "Song of the Year." The songs are up for a vote and the best tracks will be played on the station on New Year's…
December 07, 2009
Tours: Strokes, Libertines, Primal Scream voted "Best of the Decade" by NME
It's November and the end of the decade, so the "Best of a Decade" lists are starting to come in. The first comes from the hype-masters at NME who have named The Strokes'…
November 18, 2009
Tours: Guitar Hero 5 to likely include Brand New, Sunny Day Real Estate, The Bronx, Face to Face
A Joystiq.com report has what is rumoured to be the official track listing for the inevitable Guitar Hero 5. Some of the participating bands include: AFI, Arctic Monkeys, Attack! Attack! UK, Band of Horses,…
July 08, 2009
Tours: Anti-Flag, Faith No More, Rise Against to play Reading and Leeds Festival 2009
Many bands have been confirmed for the forthcoming Reading and Leeds festivals. Some of the acts include: A Day To Remember, AFI, Alexisonfire,…
June 17, 2009
Tours: Blink 182, Nirvana, SDRE, Darkest Hour, Face to Face, AFI in Guitar Hero 5
A full list of participating bands has been announced for Guitar Hero 5. Among the highlights are AFI, Arctic Monkeys,…
June 01, 2009

Exclusive Streams

Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go