Average Rating:

Hometown: New York City, NY (USA)


Battles is an American experimental rock group, founded in 2002 in New York City by Ian Williams (formerly of Don Caballero and Storm & Stress). The current line–up is guitarist/ keyboardist Ian Williams, guitarist/ bassist Dave Konopka (formerly of Lynx), and drummer John Stanier (formerly of Helmet). Following a string of EPs, the band released their debut album on the Warp Records label in February 2006,

Their first full–length album Mirrored, recorded by Keith Souza at Machines with Magnets, was released on May 14, 2007. The album received positive reviews and appeared on several top album lists for 2007. Battles' second album, Gloss Drop, was released on June 6, 2011 featuring guests including Gary Numan (formerly of "Tubeway Army"), Kazu Makino, and Yamantaka Eye, and the band announced a spring tour in support of the record. In December 2011 the band curated the All Tomorrow's Parties "Nightmare Before Christmas" festival in Minehead, England alongside co–curators Les Savy Fav and Caribou.

Related Bands

Don Caballero, Helmet


Battles Gloss Drop


Gloss Drop (2011)


Battles Mirrored


Mirrored (2007)


Current Releases

BattlesLa Di Da Di


La Di Da Di

September 18, 2015


Picture of Battles

Sam Sutherland (Junior Battles)

Friday, October 30, 2009 at 12:30 PM (EDT)

Picture of Battles

Sam Sutherland and Aaron Zorgel (Junior Battles)

Wednesday, May 26, 2010 at 8:00 PM (EDT)

Picture of Battles

Band on Band: O' Pioneers/Junior Battles

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 9:00 PM (EDT)

Picture of Battles

Sam Sutherland (Junior Battles)

Monday, December 5, 2011 at 8:00 PM (EST)

Related News

Battles announce 'La Di Da Di'
Battles have set a September 18, 2015 release date for their upcoming full lengthm La Di Da Di. It's the first from the trio since Gloss Drop in…
July 15, 2015
Tours: Battles (World Tour)
Battles have announced dates over the next several months that will take th band through Europe, the US, and the UK. You can click Read More for the…
July 13, 2015
Tours: FYF Fest announces 2015 lineup
FYF Fest has announced the 2015 lineup. Some of notable acts performing are: Alvvays, Andrew Jackson Jihad, Battles, Bloc Party, Cold Cave, Death Grips,…
May 06, 2015
Videos: Tomahawk: "Oddfellows"
Tomahawk have released a video for "Oddfellows," from their album of the same name. The band includes Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Fantômas), Duane Denison (The Jesus Lizard), John Stanier…
February 19, 2013
Media: Tomahawk: "Stone Letter"
Tomahawk has posted their new single, "Stone Letter." The band includes Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Fantômas), Duane Denison (The Jesus Lizard), John Stanier (Battles,…
October 04, 2012
Tours: Tomahawk
Tomahawk have announced some upcoming tour dates. The recently reactivated band includes Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Fantômas), Duane Denison (The Jesus Lizard), John Stanier…
July 31, 2012
Tours: Tomahawk to release 'Oddfellows' in 2013
Tomahawk, the band featuring Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Fantômas), Duane Denison (The Jesus Lizard), John Stanier (Battles,…
July 02, 2012
Tours: Happy Record Store Day
It's Record Store Day so go support your local store and buy some music. Some band participating with special releases include: All Out War, Anberlin, Animal…
April 21, 2012
Tours: Glenn Danzig to perform 'legacy' set at 'Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival'
Glenn Danzig has promised another one of his legacy sets when he performs at the 2012 Bonnaroo Music And Arts Festival. As with previous "Legacy" sets,…
March 14, 2012
Tours: Bad Brains, Flogging Molly, Bon Iver, Black Lips at Bonnaroo 2012
The lineup for Bonnaroo 2012 has been announced. The event will be headlined by Radiohead and the 50th Anniversary lineup of the Beach Boys (Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston and David Marks). Other notable performers include: The Antlers,…
February 14, 2012

Exclusive Streams


Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go