Corrosion Of Conformity photographed by Jay Beadnell

Corrosion Of Conformity

Hometown: Raleigh, NC (USA)


Corrosion of Conformity (also known as C.O.C.) is an American heavy metal band from Raleigh, North Carolina formed in 1982. For almost the majority of its existence, the band has consisted of guitarist Woody Weatherman, bassist Mike Dean, drummer Reed Mullin and vocalist and rhythm guitarist Pepper Keenan (who joined the band in 1989). After a hiatus in 2006, Corrosion of Conformity returned in 2010, without Keenan who is currently in Down (although it has been disputed whether or not Keenan has left the band).

To date, Corrosion of Conformity has released seven studio albums, two EPs, one compilation, and one live album. The band had three independent releases, Eye for an Eye (1984), Animosity (1985) and Blind (1991). The albums attracted the attention of Columbia Records, who signed the band in 1993, and released Deliverance, their most successful album to date, one year later. Their next three albums, Wiseblood (1996), America's Volume Dealer (2000) and In the Arms of God (2005) were also critically acclaimed. Corrosion of Conformity is currently working on an eighth studio album, which is due for release in 2011.


Corrosion of Conformity lX

Corrosion of Conformity

lX (2014)

Candlelight Records

GWAR/Corrosion of Conformity/The Meatmen Live in Grand Rapids

GWAR/Corrosion of Conformity/The Meatmen

Live in Grand Rapids (2014)

live show

Related News

Related Stories

Tours: Clutch / Corrosion of Conformity / The Shrine (US)
Clutch is hitting the road this fall and they're taking Corrosion Of Conformity and The Shrine alone for the ride. You can check out the dates below. Clutch is gearing up to release…
July 29, 2015
Media: Teenage Time Killers (feat. Jello Biafra): "Ode to Sean Hannity"
Teenage Time Killers, the punk/metal supergroup spearheaded by Reed Mullin of Corrosion of Conformity, are streaming a new track. It's called "Ode…
June 15, 2015
Media: Teenage Time Killers: "Hung Out to Dry"
Teenage Time Killers, the punk/metal supergroup spearheaded by Reed Mullin of Corrosion of Conformity, are streaming a new track. It's called…
April 22, 2015
Media: Jello Biafra announces two live New Orleans releases
As you may recall, for the last two years, Jello Biafra has traveled down to 'Narlins during Mardi Gras where he plays a set of garage, blues and roots classics. During these sessions, Jello played along side Bill Davis of…
April 03, 2015
Tours: Corrosion of Conformity (UK)
After announcing their reunion with vocalist/guitarist Pepper Keenan, Corrosion Of Conformity has announced a string of dates in the UK this March. You can see the dates after the jump. COC's most recent album,…
January 15, 2015
Tours: Teenage Time Killer signs with Rise Records
Teenage Time Killer, the supergroup (named after a Rudimentary Peni song!) headed by Mike Dean and Reed Mullin of…
December 18, 2014
Tours: Corrosion of Conformity reunites with Pepper Keenan
Corrosion Of Conformity fans have been asking for it for years, and it's finally happening. Vocalist/guitarist Pepper Keenan, who last recorded with COC for 2005's In the Arms of God, is returning to the band in 2015 for a new album and tour. In an interview with…
December 18, 2014
Media: Corrosion of Conformity: "On Your Way"
Raleigh, NC's Corrosion Of Conformity has released a new video for the song "On Your Way." The track is from the long-running band's most recent album,…
September 12, 2014
Tours: GWAR (US)
Following the cremation of founding member Oderus Urungus, GWAR has announced a full tour with new scumdog Blothar. The tour runs across the USA and features support from Corrosion of Conformity,…
August 21, 2014
Media: Corrosion of Conformity: 'IX'
Corrosion of Conformity are streaming their new album, due out tomorrow. It's called IX and you can hear it…
June 30, 2014

Exclusive Streams


Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go