Jawbox photographed by Katherine Davis


Average Rating:

Hometown: Washington, DC (USA)


Jawbox was formed in Washington, DC in 1989 by guitarist/vocalist J. Robbins, bassist Kim Coletta, and drummer Adam Wade. The trio released their debut 7” in 1990 as a split between Dischord Records and their own label, DeSoto. Over the next three years, Jawbox put out two albums and three 7” singles. Grippe, released in ’91, was the band’s first full-length. Second guitarist/singer Bill Barbot joined the line-up in time to record ’92’s Novelty. Both albums were released on Dischord. Zach Barocas took over drumming duties that same year, performing on For Your Own Special Sweetheart, which was released in 1994 on Atlantic Records.

Recorded in Hoboken, NJ with John Agnello in winter of 1995, Jawbox was the band’s fourth and final album.

If Sweetheart presented the band’s music in a straightforward and unembellished state, Jawboxfound the group more open to experimentation. Arrangement-wise, it contains some of the band’s densest compositions (“Chinese Fork Tie”), but also some of its most concise and tuneful songwriting (“Excandescent”). While the basic tracks were recorded more or less live, the songs were later augmented with sounds " toy drum kit, Hammond B3 organ, and saxophone " that were outside of the band’s established palate.

“I feel like that’s our kind of kitchen sink record,” says Robbins. “Sweetheart was bare-bones " just the best, most perfectly played representation of the band playing those songs. By the end of that recording process, we had a groove on who was going to do what and we thought, ‘now we can consciously incorporate our weird influences from other places.'"

By the time S/T was released via the Atlantic subsidiary TAG in 1996, it had become clear thatJawbox was beginning to wind down. “That record coincided with us starting to really burn out,” says Robbins. “We didn’t even know what label we were on at that point. We had toured the USA to the extent that we were ever going to feel like we were doing something new.”

The band toured the album throughout the remainder of the year, but ultimately decided to call it quits, performing its final show in Rochester, NY on February 14th 1997.

“I think that we thought of it as our best record,” says Robbins. “Every other Jawbox record was, like, ‘We have 12 songs, lets go record.’ This was the one record where we had the sense that ‘Are we ready?’ " we had a vision about how things should be, followed it through, and pushed the envelope aesthetically for ourselves.”

Related Bands

Burning Airlines, Channels, Government Issue, J. Robbins, The Jealous Sound


Jawbox Jawbox


Jawbox (1996)


Jawbox For Your Own Special Sweetheart


For Your Own Special Sweetheart (1994)


Jawbox Novelty


Novelty (1992)


Current Releases




September 22, 2015


Picture of Jawbox

J.Robbins (Channels, Jawbox, Government Issue)

Tuesday, November 14, 2006 at 7:00 PM (EST)

Related News

Jawbox to reissue self-titled full length
Jawbox has teamed up with Dischord Records to reissue their out-of-print major label debut, Jawbox . First released in 1996 on Atlantic, the album has been out of…
July 21, 2015
Media: Moral Mazes: 'Magic Tommy Jackson'
Moral Mazes, which includes Jonah Matranga of Far, Jeff Dean of Dead Ending, Darren Zentek of Office of Future Plans and J. Robbins of Jawbox are streaming their new album. which is due out…
August 21, 2014
Media: J. Robbins, Darren Zentek, Jeff Dean, Jonah Matranga form supergroup
Jonah Matranga of Far, Jeff Dean of Dead Ending, Darren Zentek of Office of Future Plans and J. Robbins of Jawbox have formed a new group. The band is called Moral Mazes and is currently just a "studio project." On September 2, the band plans to…
July 18, 2014
Media: J. Robbins, Lucero, more added to The Fest 12
More bands have been added to the Fest 12 including Lucero, a special drum and cello-backed set from J. Robbins (Jawbox, Burning Airlines, Government Issue,…
July 26, 2013
Videos: Coliseum: "Black Magic Punks"
Coliseum have posted a new song from Sister Faith, their upcoming album for Temporary Residence which is due out April 30, 2013. The album was…
February 05, 2013
Media: Coliseum: "Black Magic Punks"
Coliseum have posted a new song from Sister Faith, their upcoming album for Temporary Residence which is due out April 30, 2013. The album was…
January 16, 2013
Media: Lemuria enter the studio
Lemuria have announced that they are heading into the studio with producer J. Robbins (Jawbox), to begin work on their 3rd full-length. Lemuria bassist Max Gregor revealed some details on the upcoming release: We're…
December 04, 2012
Media: Regents: "Heading"
Regents, the new band formed by members of Thursday and Frodus, have posted another new song from their forthcoming debut. Antietam After Party is due out November 20, 2012 and was produced by…
October 11, 2012
Media: Regents (ex-Thursday, Frodus): "Nothing to Water"
The A.V. Club has premiered a new song from Regents, the Washington D.C.-based band featuring former members of Thursday, Frodus. The song is called "Nothing to Water," and featuring…
September 10, 2012
Media: Office of Future Plans (Jawbox, Burning Airlines) debut "Salamander" from forthcoming LP
Office of Future Plans, the latest project from ex-Jawbox/Burning Airlines frontman J. Robbins, have debuted…
October 27, 2011

Exclusive Streams


Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go