Primus photographed by Tod Brilliant


Average Rating:

Hometown: El Sobrante, CA (USA)


Primus is an American rock band based in San Francisco, California, currently composed of bassist/vocalist Les Claypool, guitarist Larry "Ler" LaLonde and drummer Jay Lane. Primus originally formed in 1984 with Claypool and guitarist Todd Huth, later joined by Lane, though the latter two departed the band at the end of 1988. Featuring LaLonde and drummer Tim "Herb" Alexander, Primus recorded their debut, Suck on This in 1989, followed by four studio albums; Frizzle Fry, Sailing the Seas of Cheese, Pork Soda, and Tales from the Punchbowl. Alexander left the band in 1996, replaced by Bryan "Brain" Mantia, and Primus went on to record the original theme song for the TV show South Park and two more albums, Brown Album and Antipop, before declaring a hiatus in 2000.

In 2003, Claypool and LaLonde reunited with Alexander and released a DVD/EP, Animals Should Not Try to Act Like People, before touring sporadically through 2009. In 2010, it was announced that Lane had rejoined Primus, replacing Alexander, and the band released their eighth album, Green Naugahyde, in 2011.


Primus Sailing the Seas of Cheese


Sailing the Seas of Cheese (1991)


Related News

Riot Fest Denver announces new venue
Riot Fest has found a new venue for the Denver date. After being denied an event permit from Arapahoe County and the city of Byers, CO, the festival organizers have announced Sports Authority Stadium as their new location. All tickets will be…
July 18, 2014
Amnesia Rockfest announces complete line up
Amnesia Rockfest, which takes place in Montreal, Quebec on June 20-21, has announced its full lineup. Bands playing this year include Blink-182, Weezer, Megadeth, Primus, Nofx, Mastodon,…
April 11, 2014
San Jose's Rockage Fest Announces Complete Lineup
San Jose's Rockage Fest, a festival that features performances from dozens of video-game influenced bands as well as hundreds of vintage video games, has announced its complete lineup. Bands performing include The Albert Square, Slime Girls,…
February 03, 2014
Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD full soundtrack revealed
The high anticipated soundtrack to the HD reissues of the classic Tony Hawk's Pro Skater games has been revealed. As speculated, the original soundtracks will not available for the new versions of the game and so a new 16-song soundtrack was assembled. Ken Overbey, the project manager on the new games explained…
May 24, 2012
Contests: Win tickets to Free Press Summer Fest
Punknews.org have teamed up with Night Owls Print Shop to give 5 lucky readers tickets to this year's Free Press Summer Fest in Houston, TX. The festival, which runs June 2 - 3, will feature performances from Descendents,…
May 07, 2012
Tours: Gogol Bordello
Gogol Bordello have announced extensive tour dates starting this month and going through July. The band will be making stops in North and South America, and Europe, including a few dates with…
March 22, 2012
Tours: Primus (North America)
Primus will be hitting the road across North America in May and June of this year. You can click Read More for the…
March 19, 2012
Tours: Classic Tony Hawk games being reissued but without iconic soundtracks
The beloved first two Tony Hawk's Pro Skater games are headed for HD reissues next year, but unfortunately will likely not include the series' iconic punk and hardcore soundtracks. As Activision community blogger Dan Amrich…
December 15, 2011
Videos: Primus: "Tragedy‚??s A‚?? Comin"
Primus have posted an appropriately weird video for their single, "Tragedy's A' Comin." The song comes from their 2011 album Green Naugahyde. You can click Read More for the…
November 18, 2011
Videos: NOFX joins Bonnaroo
NOFX, undoubtedly seduced by the opportunity to perform alongside kindred spirits like Buffalo Springfield, Eminem, Opeth, and Big Boi, have been confirmed for the 2011 edition of Bonnaroo 2011. …
April 13, 2011

Exclusive Streams


Newest Reviews

Punknews.org Team

Managing Editor

Adam White

Contributing Editors

Kira Wisniewski Brittany Strummer Armando Olivas John Flynn Chris Moran John Gentile Mark Little

Copy Editor

Adam Eisenberg Britt Reiser

Podcast Producer

Greg Simpson


Aubin Paul

ISSN 1710-5366

© Copyright 1999-2013 Punknews.org

Terms of Use Privacy Policy Contact Us About Punknews.org

Other Places to Go