Voodoo Glow Skulls - Steady As She Goes (Cover Artwork)

Voodoo Glow Skulls

Steady As She Goes (2002)


With their originality and their unique mixture of punk, ska, hardcore and metal, the Voodoo Glow Skulls always were one of the bands I admire the most. On their last album " Symbolic ", the group had tempted new approaches and new sounds, making this album a more or less experimental album. I had liked well this album rather different from the others albums, but many persons had been disappointed. The new album " Steady As She Goes " is the first album of the group since they left Epitaph Records for Victory Records. It is also the first album the band produced themselves, and the first album with the new trumpeter, Mason Ball.

" Steady As She Goes " is some kind of a little return to basics for the Voodoo Glow Skulls because the album sounds a little more like the first two albums, " Who Is, This Is " and "Firme", than the most recent ones. On the other hand, " Steady As She Goes " is not a step behind. The band managed to makes original songs by using their former formula, without sounding like other songs of them. The album begins with " Voodoo Anthem ", one of the best songs that the band made, and who will become certainly a classic during their insane shows. Other songs of the album which stands out are ; " One For The Road ", " Interstate Disease ", " New Jerk Swing ", as well as " Steady As She Goes ", who stand out from the album by being less fast and more rock. Faithful to the tradition, the album contains two songs in Spanish (" Nada En La Cabeza " and " La Llorona "), both excellent, as well as a bonus song, which is a cover of the song " Little Red Riddin Hood ". The other songs are all unique and will be pleased by the old fans as well as the new fans of the band. In brief, " Steady As She Goes " is 13 songs of speed, energy and especially talent from a band you absolutely have to see live!