Dropkick Murphys / Gang Green - live in Columbus (Cover Artwork)

Dropkick Murphys / Gang Green

live in Columbus (2005)

live show

Driving to Columbus to see the Dropkick Murphys for the seventh time, I wondered if it would be worth all the gas and drive time. Soon after arriving at Newport Music Hall, I had a feeling there would be no doubt in my mind everything was going to be worth it to see the DKM boys headline this tour.

The opening band was a British ska outfit called the Deadpets (I think). I only caught the last two songs, but their sound was tight and the horns blended well with the heavy guitar work.

Next was Darkbuster. Not knowing anything about this band, I was quickly drawn in by their drunk singer's antics and stories (like their roadie diving into an empty pool the night before and thus hospitalized) and the band's tight, three-chord sound, with plenty of palm mutes and backup vocals. They also had a few ska songs with an organ that were just as good, such as the number "I Hate the Unseen." My personal favorite was a song called "Hometown Loser," which was about the sterotypical punk subjects of being a loser, punk, and a boozer. I would highly recommend checking this band out.

Next were the Lost City Angels, and about this time the sound man must have passed out or something like that, since the vocals were inaudible and the rhythm guitar was making the PA ring. I recognized a few songs such as "Liberation," "Pretty War," and "Broken World." The high energy of the band made up for the sound problem and got the crowd fired up

Then came the legendary Gang Green. The old-school speed punk prompted a circle pit from the first note that rang through the auditorium. They played about a dozen songs while talking in between about how they had been playing for 20 years and had lots of fun with drugs and alcohol. Selections included "Another Wasted Night," "Out on the Couch," "Have Fun," and of course, the closer was "Alcohol," with help from about 20 crew members and people in the other bands stage diving and spraying beer to celebrate the last night of the tour.

Dropkick entered as they usually do to "The Foggy Dew" and ripped into a string of Warrior's Code songs broken up only by "Boys on the Docks." The sound was still off, perodically leaving out the pipes, mandolin, and Ken's vocals. The set list was a nice mix of new and old; however, this was the first time I have seen them not play a single song from The Gang's All Here. Of course, everyone rushed the stage for the finale of "Spicy McHaggis Jig" for the ladies, followed by "Skinhead" for everyone else. This was a great package tour and I look foward to seeing DKM again soon! Set list below by album:

Do or Die

  • Barroom Hero
  • Third Man In
  • Finnegan's Wake
  • Boys on the Dock
  • Skinhead
Sing Loud, Sing Proud
  • Which Side Are You On?
  • Heroes from Our Past
  • The Gauntlet
  • Spicy McHaggis Jig
  • Worker's Song
  • Buried Alive
  • Fields of Athenry (Farrar Version w/ piano, whistle, and vocals only)
  • As One
  • Time to Go
Warrior's Code
  • Spirit's Alive
  • The Warrior's Code
  • Captain Kelly's Kitchen
  • Walking Dead
  • Sunshine Highway
  • The Burden
  • Citizen C.I.A.
  • Auld Triangle
  • Last Letter Home