by The Pixies

Frank Black of the Pixies has announced plans to release his next solo album this year. The record, titled Honeycomb is his first solo effort since 1996's the Cult of Ray and will be released on July 19th by Back Porch Records/EMI.

The disc, which is said to be "Americana-flavored" was recorded at Dan Penn's Better Songs and Gardens studio in Nashville, TN over a four-day period in April, 2004, a few days before the Pixies kicked off their very first reunion tour date. It features appearances by Steve Cropper, Buddy Miller and Reggie Young on guitars, drummers Chester Thompson, Anton Fig, Billy Block, and Akil Thompson, David Hood on bass, and Spooner Oldham on keyboards, among others. Honeycomb was produced by Jon Tiven (Wilson Pickett, B.B. King, Robert Plant) who also worked with Black on his 1994 Headache EP.

Black wrote all but three of the fourteen songs on "Honeycomb," the exceptions being covers of "Dark End of the Street" (Dan Penn & Chips Moman), "Song of the Shrimp" (Roy Bennett & Sid Tepper) from the Elvis Presley film "Girls, Girls Girls," and "Sunday Sunny Mill Valley Groove Day" (Doug Sahm). Some of the original Black compositions on Honeycomb include "I Burn Today," "My Life is in Storage," "Atom In My Heart," "Another Velvet Nightmare" (co-written with Reid Paley), "Go Find Your Saint," and "Violet."