Sonic Youth details celebrity curated hits compilation

Sonic Youth has revealed the track listing for their upcoming Starbucks Records-released hits compilation, Hits are For Squares. The songs were selected by a number of celebrity fans including Dave Eggers and Mike Watt, Portia de Rossi, Beck, Mike D, David Cross, Flaming Lips, Gus Van Zant, Eddie Vedder, Catherine Keener and more. The band's frontman (and frequent documentary talking head) Thurston Moore commented:

In a way, Sonic Youth has a branded name. People know the name, but not necessarily our music, which might be a little too outsider for some. And when they do hear a little something, it doesn't tell the whole story. I thought it would be interesting to have a CD available in a store like Starbucks where the casual consumer can sort of have access to [our music] more readily.

The set is due out June 10, 2008.

  1. "Bull in the Heather" - selected by Catherine Keener
  2. "Sugar Kane" - selected by Beck
  3. "100%" - selected by Mike D
  4. "Kool Thing" - selected by Radiohead
  5. "Disappearer" - selected by Portia De Rossi
  6. "Superstar" - selected by Diablo Cody
  7. "Stones" - selected by Allison Anders
  8. "Tuff Gnarl" - selected by Dave Eggers and Mike Watt
  9. "Teenage Riot" - selected by Eddie Vedder
  10. "Shadow of a Doubt" - selected by Michelle Williams
  11. "Rain on Tin" - selected by Flea
  12. "Tom Violence" - selected by Gus Van Zant
  13. "Mary-Christ" - selected by David Cross
  14. "World Looks Red" - selected by Chloe Sevigny
  15. "Expressway to Yr Skull" - selected by Flaming Lips
  16. "Slow Revolution" - exclusive new Sonic Youth recording