Contributed by nikko, Posted by Fat Wreck Chords

Fat Wreck Chords has announced that they will be releasing The Original Cowboy by Against Me!. The record, made predominantly of never-before-heard demos were recorded at Goldentone Studio in Gainesville, FL with Rob McGregor on July 15th, 2003. The session was scheduled prior to Against Me!'s trip to Memphis' Ardent Studios where As The Eternal Cowboy was recorded.

Tom Gabel explains the decision to go to Ardent:

Having already recorded our first full length album and two previous EPs with Rob at Goldentone, we wanted to do something different for our second full length. We specifically wanted to make an all analog recording with as few overdubs as possible which is what we could do at Ardent. With Rob McGregor coming along to produce, we wanted to make sure he was familiar with the songs, so we made this demo recording.

Recorded and mixed in only a couple of hours, The Original Cowboy was only meant to be a trial run, but, listening to it today, there's a part of me that feels foolish for ever recording these songs a second time."

The record is due out July 7, 2009.

  1. A Brief Yet Triumphant Introduction/Cliche Guevarra
  2. Mutiny On The Electronic Bay
  3. T.S.R
  4. Rice And Bread
  5. Cavalier Eternal
  6. Unsubstantiated Rumors
  7. Slurring The Rhythms
  8. You Look Like I Need A Drink/ Turn Those Clapping Hands Into Angry Balled Fists