Today Punknews and Some Party are thrilled to bring you a cool new track from Montreal garage-punks PRIORS. "Sunshine" will appear on the band's upcoming 14-song sophomore LP New Pleasure. It arrives on November 16 from Reno's Slovenly Recordings (Tommy And The Commies, The Spits). This time out PRIORS features Chance Hutchison, Drew Demers, Seb Godin, Alan Hildebrandt, and Stuart Buckley, members who've currently or formally have played in bands like Sonic Avenues, New Vogue, the Steve Adamyk Band, and The Famines.

Slovenly asked Eric Davidson, frontman of the legendary New Bomb Turks to say a few words about the new PRIORS record. Check it out:

Slovenly Recordings zooms into a new universe somewhere between their trademark trashy echo-poonk and future-shock squalls with “New Pleasure” by Montreal quintet PRIORS. Hailing, scaling, and wailing from a long-scrambling Canadian scene whose rep is not as revered as it should be, PRIORS furiously scrunches together lacerating fuzz riffs, maniacal snare drum abuse, skittish analog shivers, and savagely scared shouting that's sometimes double-tracked into microchip-loose robot nervousness.

PRIORS idea of "letting up" is a quick drum intro like on "Sunshine," the plower pop of "At Your Leisure," the half-minute instro-intermission of "Life Part 2," or, uh… Oh who are we kidding? They don't let up, and they don't kid. A frozen stare into some slate-grey abyss is their "look” -- two minutes of pummel, their "sound." Avoidance of nuclear war or any other waste of time their "career trajectory."

“New Pleasure” -- their leap-ahead second LP -- is the next album to convince you that rock'n'roll not only has gas in the tank, but space rocket fuel too, burning off into worlds beyond this square one.



The band's first record was put out on LP via Berlin's Twintoe Records, on cassette from Brain Gum Records, and as one of those provocative newsprint releases from the Famines' Pentagon Black label. The new LP follows a recent digital exclusive single from the band titled "Grease" that dropped earlier in the year. The new LP features cover art by Sweet Dave of TV Freaks.

This story is part of a reporting partnership between and Some Party, a weekly newsletter covering independent Canadian rock music. Subscribe at