Swans will release a new album on October 5 via Mute/Young God. It's called leaving meaning. and in addition to frontman Michael Gira, the release includes contributions from Norman Westberg, Thor Harris, Kristof Hahn, Christopher Pravdica, Phil Puleo, Anna and Maria von Hausswolff, Ben Frost, The Necks, Baby Dee, A Hawk and A Hacksaw, Dana Schechter, Jennifer Gira, and more.

Gira stated: "Leaving Meaning is the first Swans album to be released since I dissolved the lineup of musicians that constituted Swans from 2010 - 2017. Swans is now comprised of a revolving cast of musicians, selected for both their musical and personal character, chosen according to what I intuit best suits the atmosphere in which I’d like to see the songs I’ve written presented. In collaboration with me, the musicians, through their personality, skill and taste, contribute greatly to the arrangement of the material. They’re all people whose work I admire and whose company I personally enjoy."

Check out the first single, "It's Coming It's Real," below.