Angry Samoans are an early Los Angeles punk band, formed by rock critics "Metal" Mike Saunders and Gregg Turner. Their unspecified grudges against influential KROQ DJ Rodney Bingenheimer caused them to write a defamatory song called "Get Off the Air", which caused many Los Angeles clubs to avoid booking them until the mid 1980s. The band's particularly offensive, politically incorrect attitude and lyrical content probably contributed to this situation as well.

In the middle 1980s Angry Samoans returned to their roots in 1960s garage rock (they had always cited the 13th Floor Elevators as being their major influence) and put out two releases, Yesterday Started Tomorrow EP and STP Not LSD. Singer/bassist Todd Homer left in 1989, and formed The Mooseheart Faith Stellar Groove Band with Larry Robinson, formerly of 1970s teen pop–soul band Apollo. Turner left soon afterwards, putting out an album in 1993 with the Mistaken before forming his current band, the Blood Drained Cows. Angry Samoans continued with Saunders, drummer Bill Vockeroth, and a wide variety of other individuals, sporadically active throughout the 1990s and into the new millennium.