Born Against was a critically acclaimed left wing, hardcore punk band from New York.

The band performed together in the four years between 1989 and 1993. Vocal duties were handled by Sam McPheeters, and Adam Nathanson was the key guitarist. The rhythm section frequently changed in its line–up, but some prominent temporary members of the band included Neil Burke and Tonie Joy (from Universal Order of Armageddon and Moss Icon) on bass guitar, Melissa York (later in Team Dresch and The Butchies) and Brooks Headley (also from Universal Order of Armageddon) on drums. After Born Against disbanded, McPheeters formed Men's Recovery Project with Burke and Nathanson formed The (Young) Pioneers with Headley. Later, McPheeters and Headley reunited in Wrangler Brutes.

Born Against released several records on the independent label Vermiform Records [1]. Albums included Nine Patriotic Hymns For Children and Battle Hymns For The Race War. Of particular note is the Eulogy 7" that was dedicated to Steve Reddy of Equal Vision Records