Spacer Image
Franz Ferdinand is a rock band. It was formed in Glasgow and was named after Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria. The members are Alex Kapranos (lead vocals, guitar), Bob Hardy (bass guitar), Nick McCarthy (guitar, keyboard,), and Paul Thomson (drums, backing vocals).

The band's debut self–titled album (released in 2004) debuted on the UK album charts at number three and won the 2004 Mercury Music Prize before their second album charted at number 1. So far, the band has released eight singles, a double single and two video–clip–only singles, of which "Take Me Out," "The Dark of the Matinée," "This Fire" (on the download chart) and "Do You Want To" were top 10 hits in the UK.