The Shins join Columbia, prep next album

The Shins have returned from hibernation with all new members save frontman James Mercer and plan to issue a new album next year via Mercer's own Aural Apothecary label, an imprint of Columbia. It'll be the band's first new material since Wincing the Night Away, released in 2007 via Sub Pop Records. The new Shins lineup features Mercer, Richard Swift, Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse), Yuuki Matthews (Crystal Skulls) and Jessica Dobson.

The group has also announced some sporadic tour dates over the next several weeks, which can be seen below.

8/8Eugene, ORW.O.W. Hall
8/9Bend, ORThe Domino Room
8/10Portland, ORThe Doug Fir Lounge
8/12San Francisco, CAOutside Lands Festival
9/22Toronto, ONPhoenix Concert Theatre
9/23Philadelphia, PAPopped! Festival
9/24Boston, MAParadise Rock Club
10/15Pensacola, FLDeLuna Festival