Tony Sly
Contributed by drewxfishy, Posted by Fat Wreck Chords

Tony Sly of No Use For A Name has announced his debut solo full length. Titled 12 Song Program, the album is due out February 16, 2010. The record will feature guest appearances from Karina Denike of Dance Hall Crashers, Darius from Swingin' Utters and Joey Cape of Bad Astronaut and Lagwagon.

Tony explained the album:

I decided to do a solo record because I had some song ideas that wouldn't work for No Use. I've been wanting to do this for several years but I just never had the time. I also wanted to get some of my more folky influences on a record. I think you'll hear that this is not an acoustic NUFAN record. I think some songs just can't be made into punk songs like some punk songs can't be made into acoustic songs. I also like the idea of having the freedom of playing shows on the fly, being able to show up at a bar with just a guitar and have enough material to play for an hour or so. I'm getting some good feedback and good tours lined-up for 2010. Should be interesting.

Tony made his solo debut with the Acoustic split with Joey Cape in 2004. His band, No Use for a Name, released The Feel Good Record of the Year in 2008.